2018 competition Picture

Happy Winners of Trophies at the 2018 Conference


SAW Competitions and Results 2014

Competition Trophy

General Novel

Constable Stag Trophy

Novel Length entry in a specific genre - ‘A Romance’

Pitlochry Quaich Trophy

Younger Adult Novel

TC Farries Crystal Thistle Trophy

Factual novel length

Janetta Bowie Chalice

General Short Story

SCHOLARSHIP 2014 - John Severn, Silver Inkwell & Sheila Livingstone Shield

General Article

Alastair Walker - The Golden Oscar


Dorothy Dunbar Rose-bowl


Helensburgh Shield

Women's Short Story

Margaret McConnell Trophy

Flash Fiction

SAW Council Trophy

Under 7's

Drama Five Minute Sketch

Largs Trophy

Book Review

May Marshall

Dragons’ Pen

Click on the links above for full details


SAW Trophies

As a mark of our respect and love for our recently deceased Competition Secretary, we introduced this newly engraved SAW Barbara Hammond trophy seen here on its plinth. It is presented for a self published novel and this year Chris Longmuir won it.

SAW Summer Solstice 2018

SAW Summer Solstice 2018

SAW Summer Solstice 2018

Write Down South 2018

Write Down South 2018

Write Down South 2018

Outside Competitions

this link will take you to a Facebook page where Marc Sherland has created a listing of outside competitions and their due dates.

Click on the button


Autumn Equinox competition results - click here to view

Adjudication of Poetry - Michael Malone
Michael praised the standard reached by the poets who entered the competition and revealed the results as follows :

1st award

Mora MacLean - Glasgow - The Sound of Sollas

2nd place

G B Ballantyne - Argyll - The River in Summer

3rd place

Alexander Hamilton -Argyll - Late Winter

Highly commended

Mora MacLean - Glasgow - Tree Dance


Alexander Hamilton -Argyll - Morning Moon


C M Walker - Glasgow - Show and Tell


Patsy Dyer - Argyll - Cowslip Wine



Adjudication of Short Story Competition - Keith Charters
Keith said he was highly impressed with the stories he read in the short leet and praised the entrants.

1st award

Barbara Stevenson - Preswick - Zuri Mtu

2nd place

Vicky MacKenzie - Fife - The Guddle

3rd place

Helen Welsh - Fife - Natural and Unnatural Worlds


M T Keilty - Glasgow - The Puddockstane


Margaret Woodward - Moray - The Mists of Loch Duich


Sarah Hodgetts - Herts - The Otter Pup

2012 St. Andrew's Short Story Competition - click here to view


1st Place

Evelyn Corkill - Largs Writers Group

2nd Place

Joanna Campbell - Gloucestershire, England

3rd Place

Sheila Aird - Edinburgh Writers